Multiple Teams · MCPS announces Winter 16-17 SHS Sportsmanship Winners

MCPS presents Sportsmanship Awards in each sport to varsity teams whose spectators and team personnel best exhibit sportsmanship over the course of the season. The award is based on ratings conducted by officials, athletic directors, and school administrators. The school whose teams have won the greatest number of team sportsmanship awards during the course of the year will be recognized as the county “Sportsmanship Champion” for that year and will receive a monetary award. SHS recipients of the Winter 16-17 MCPS Sportsmanship Award include:

  • Bocce – Coach Katie Nichols
  • Indoor Track & Field – Coach Chris Bantum & Coach Dan Reeks
  • Poms – Coach Jim Douglas & Coach Jeanne Laeng
  • Swimming & Diving – Coach Brendan Lees
  • Wrestling – Coach Pete Siarkas & Coach Justin Gearhart

Congratulations to the coaches, staff, student-athletes, parent(s)/guardian(s) and fans of these SHS athletic teams.